Maungawhau School is a decile 10 primary school (years 1-6) in the heart of Mt Eden. Our roll sits between 600-700 students, and is carefully managed by a school zone. The school is well resourced with a large school swimming pool, attractive modern library and spacious grounds.

Our school is well supported by a strong parent community, who are committed to our school mission of ‘Shaping the Future’. We have a stable staff of hard working teachers and learning support workers. We also employ a specialist music teacher (who teaches students for one hour per week from year 2 onwards) and a sports co-ordinator.

At Maungawhau School we pride ourselves on doing the very best that we can for all of our students, all of the time. Our staff have a strong commitment to their own professional learning and ensuring our programmes, are engaging, motivating and challenging for all learners.

Vision Statement (moemoeā) –  SHAPING THE FUTURE

Our Values (matapopore)  – We care    We work together   We keep trying   We challenge ourselves

Mission Statement (mīhana) – The Maungawhau community will work together to educate and inspire our children to become confident and connected learners who are ready to shape the future of the world we live in.


The school is divided into three teams:

Year 1 – 2 Whanake Junior School

Junior School Team Leader – Marilyn Schroeder
Junior School Transition to School Leader – Liz lapish

Year 3 – 4 Waipuna Middle School

Middle School Team Leader – Elizabeth Love

Year 5 – 6 Matauranga Senior School

Senior School Team Leader – Ben Fahey

Delanee Dale is the Principal and Ben Fahey is our Deputy Principal, responsible for the day to day running of the school. Tania Plaisier, our Assistant Principal, is responsible for our Curriculum and Pedagogy and our Gifted & Talented programmes.

Diana Mobberley is our SENCO (Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator) and has overall responsibility for all children in our school with special needs.  Diana also oversees and works with our Learning Support staff.  Diana is also responsible for our ESOL programme (English for Students of Other Languages).

Nearly all classes in our school are taught as straight year levels.


The school office opening hours are Monday – Friday 8.00 am – 4.00 pm during term time, except where otherwise advertised.  The Administration team are happy to assist with requests for general information; however, the classroom teacher should be the first point of contact for information specific to your child.

The office has an open door policy, so please feel free to pop in anytime for assistance.


Regular and punctual attendance is expected to ensure your children continue to progress with their academic achievement.  If your child is absent, please notify the school by phone on 638 8829 and leave a message on the student absence line.

Administration staff will then enter the child’s name on the electronic register which then informs the teacher.  It is important that any child arriving at school after 8.50am must first report to the school office before going to class.  The office is open from 8.00 am to 4.00 pm.

Children leaving school early to attend medical appointments need to go via the office so they can sign out.

If your child is unaccounted for, administration staff will try to contact you to check your child’s whereabouts.  Therefore, it is essential that contact details are kept up to date.

When your child returns to school, please send a note to the class teacher explaining the absence.

Notification requesting leave for planned absences such as family holidays need to be directed in writing to the principal either via letter or email.

If you arrive late to school and have missed the roll call in class, you must sign in at the office before you head to class.

If you need to report an absence, please click here.