Maungawhau School is governed by parent representatives, the Principal and an elected staff representative.

Your current board members are listed below.

  • Andrew Hannan
  • Ed Timmins (Chair)
  • Emma McDonald
  • Helen Ha (Treasurer)
  • Michelle Sutcliffe
  • Delanee Dale
  • Heath Lewzey

Our role

All of New Zealand’s state and state-integrated schools have a board of trustees. The board is the Crown entity responsible for the governance and the control of the management of the school. The board is the employer of all staff in the school, is responsible for setting the school’s strategic direction in consultation with parents, staff and students, and ensuring that its school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its students. Boards are also responsible for overseeing the management of personnel, curriculum, property, finance and administration.

Board Elections

The current Board were elected in  July 2019 by our community. Election Results can be viewed here.

Board Meetings

The board meets twice each term and we warmly welcome our parent community to our meetings. Please check the school calendar for meeting dates and times.

Meeting Protocols

We believe it is helpful to all those attending a meeting to be clear on meeting protocols. Board meetings are meetings held in public; they are not public meetings. If you would like to speak, please write to the Board Chair to request speaking rights in advance of a meeting.

Contacting the Board

If you have any feedback or wish to seek information from the board, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with our Board Chair (details can be obtained from the school office).